RSS Feed

She said, “Oh, Shit!”


It’s getting to be wedding season, so I thought I’d share this. Our engagement may not have been what most would consider “fairy tale”, but I think it was perfect and very us. As usual, you can leave it to me to have the most inappropriate reaction.

Jeff proposed on New Years’ Eve or New Years’ Day. It was 2am, so you can make the call.

We went out to Clancy’s, one of our regular bars with some friends to bring in the new year. We had a few drinks and at midnight, toasted with champagne. We left shortly after the midnight celebrations died down.

At home Jeff opened a bottle of almond champagne and brought out a box of fancy Stam chocolate. I turned on some Sinatra and we just sat on the sofa with our dogs and talked about our favorite moments over the past year. I don’t remember exactly what he said, but I replied, “Yeah, you’re stuck with me.” Out of nowhere he whipped out a little white box with a sparkly ring inside and said, “Should we make it official?”

Me being…well…me, burst into tears and responded with, “Oh SHIT! Shit, shit, shit, shit…seriously? Oh shit! YES! Shit.” I may have left out a few shits, but you get the idea. It probably wasn’t exactly what Jeff had pictured, but it was perfect. Of course the whole family heard about that one, I have yet to live it down.

We got married on a gorgeous and sunny October 14, 2011. Everything was beautiful and perfectly nerdy, but that’s another story…

About melaniekoraleski

Hello everyone! I am a graphic artist/makeup-artist-in-training/bookworm from Omaha, NE. I write about whatever happens to be floating around in my brain at the moment. Stop by my blog and take a look around. Cheers!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Here Comes the Anti-Bride (part 1) « Perfectly Imperfect

Leave a Reply

